Ronald Eugene McRuiz

Events

Ronald Eugene McRuiz (Rancho Ron) age 71 of Cleburne, Texas passed away peacefully at his home on August 8, 2019. Visitation will be from 4-6:00 P.M. Saturday, August 10, 2019 at Crossroads Church. A private memorial service for family will be held at a later date. Honorary pallbearers will be Billy Cate, Larry Combs, Gene Petross, Bob Richey, John Smith and Gary Beaver.
Two earth angels who were always there to care for Ron in his time of need are Janice Plihal and Charles Bottomley.

Ron McRuiz was born on February 9, 1948 in Tyler, Texas to Thelma and Albert McRuiz. He graduated from John Tyler High School in 1966, Tyler Junior College in 1968 and Baylor University in 1970. Ron taught Spanish and French at Cleburne High School, University High School in Waco, Kopperl High School, Midlothian High School and was a long time substitute at Alvarado High School.

Rancho Ron sang cowboy songs and played the drums with the Chisholm Trail Cowboys. He also was a member of the Western Music Award winning group The Texas Trailhands singing western swing songs and playing percussion. He was a founding member of the Cowtown Opry in Fort Worth, Texas.
Playing the drums and singing in the Crossroads Church praise band was a great source of joy for him.

Ron is survived by his wife of forty five years, Holly McRuiz; son, Robin March McRuiz and wife Alison, and their son Ourson Mec McRuiz. Being "Grampy" was his most recent pleasure and was his greatest source of enjoyment in his life.

He was preceded in death by his parents Thelma and Albert McRuiz.

Ron will be missed and remembered fondly by all that knew him.
To plant a tree in memory of Ronald Eugene McRuiz, please visit Tribute Store.
Published on August 8, 2019
Plant a tree in memory
of Ronald
Plant a tree

Obituary published in

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

A place to share condolences and memories.

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on November 06, 2019.

8 posts

Yvonne Perez
Aug 13, 2019
Prayers to family and friends.
You will be missed by many and all who you taught in school and interacted in your life. RIP Sir.
Mike McRuiz
Aug 11, 2019
Beautiful in Blue was purchased for the family of Ronald Eugene McRuiz by Mike McRuiz.  Send flowers
Kyle & Shirley McRuiz
Aug 10, 2019
We are so sorry about Ronnie’s passing, we loved him❤️ Our prayers will be with you Holly and March and family. love you!
Randy & Pam Jones
Aug 09, 2019
Ron was a special person. He always expressed concern & kind words to everyone.
David and Cindy Burden
Aug 09, 2019
We didn't get to know Ron for very long, but will always remember how welcoming and friendly he was to us newcomers - always saying to drop by anytime. His dedication to serving in the praise band at Crossroads, even when he was ill made a huge impression on us. He will be missed greatly. Our prayers go out to Holly and all the family and loved ones at this time.
Aug 09, 2019
Basket of Memories was purchased for the family of Ronald Eugene McRuiz.  Send flowers
Aug 09, 2019
Sweet Tranquility Basket was purchased for the family of Ronald Eugene McRuiz.  Send flowers
Susan Helton-McCaskill
Aug 08, 2019
I first met Ron in 1998 when my ex-husband and I joined the Cowtown Opry. At that time he was also a member of The Texas Trailhands. His singing, TennyLama boots and that silver hair are what stood out to me.

Rest in Peace Roncho Ron and have fun singing in the heavenly choir.

My thoughts and prayers are with Holly, March, and all the other loved ones. Take comfort that Ron is no longer in pain but has a perfect body in heaven.