Wayne Maggard

Text size

Wayne Maggard

July 07, 1943 - February 14, 2019

Wayne Maggard Wayne Maggard, 75, passed away February 14, 2019 at Community Hospice of Texas in Fort Worth. A memorial service to celebrate Wayne's life will be held at 11 a.m. Saturday, March 2, 2019 at the First United Methodist Church of Cleburne.
Wayne was born in Corsicana, Texas on July 7, 1943, to Georgia Ann (Gipson) and Wayne Davis Maggard Sr. Wayne attended Navarro College before joining the United States Marine Corps with lifelong friend, Bud Gorman, at the age of 20, where he proudly served his country.
Wayne was an insurance adjuster by profession, specializing in catastrophic losses, a job which took him to all corners of the United States.
Wayne married Patricia White McCarty on October 30, 1993, which prompted his move to Cleburne where he lived for the next 25 years and where he became an active member of the First United Methodist Church of Cleburne. Wayne was also a member of Cleburne Masonic Lodge #315.
Wayne was an amateur blacksmith and "tinkerer," and made beautiful iron furniture, some of which was commissioned by Dallas area designers and interior decorators. Several of Wayne's pieces were also sold at auction to raise money for the Dallas Museum of Art.
Wayne was preceded in death by his parents.
He is survived by his wife, Patty Maggard of Cleburne; sons, Jason Maggard of Dallas, Texas; Matt McCarty and Jayd McCarty, both of New York City, New York; cousins, Charles Ray and wife Lynne of Midland, Texas and Karen Payne of Cleburne; sister and brother-in-law DK and Mike Reynolds of Austin; nephew Kley Reynolds of Austin, and many friends.
In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to the First United Methodist Church, PO Box 114, Cleburne, TX 76033 or to Community Hospice of Texas, 501 N. Ridgeway Dr., Cleburne, TX 76033.
Published on February 22, 2019
Send flowers
in memory of Wayne
See more

Obituary published in

Arrangements by

Rosser Funeral Home

Events

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on May 23, 2019.

Select an emblem

5 posts

Becky Hall
Mar 02, 2019
Pat I’m so sorry for your loss. Wayne was good man and he will truly be missed. My thoughts and prayers are with you.
Patt and Diane Mayfield
Mar 02, 2019
We will miss you Wayne our friend. Our prayers go with you Patty in your time of need.
We love you both.
Elaine Miller
Feb 28, 2019
Patty: Sending you special prayers and sympathy on the loss of your husband. I think of each and every member of Joyce's family and how blessed I am to have met you all. I am still in touch with Marsha often. Please come to visit her and we can all visit. With love, Elaine
Disy and Kenneth Yarbrough
Feb 26, 2019
Wayne was a fine man. It was a privilege to know him.
Martha Switzer
Feb 24, 2019
Patty and family so sorry for your loss of a wonderful family member. You all are in my prayers at this time. He will always be with you in your heart and in your wonderful memories.