Jane Dianne Lanman

Text size

Jane Dianne Lanman

January 07, 1944 - August 27, 2018

A memorial service celebrating the life of Jane Dianne (Sanders) Lanman, 74, a lifelong resident of Cleburne, Texas, will be conducted at 10 a.m. Thursday, August 30, 2018 at First United Methodist Church with the Rev. Daniel Hawkins officiating. A private family burial will be held at a later date.
Dianne Lanman passed away Monday, August 27, 2018 in Cleburne. She was born in Cleburne on January 7, 1944, the daughter of Jack and Jimmie Evelyn (Brown) Sanders.
Dianne married Neal Lanman on July 31, 1965 in Cleburne.
She graduated from Cleburne High School in 1962 and received her Bachelors in Education from Texas Tech University in 1967. Dianne received her Masters in Education in 1969 from the University of North Texas and went on to receive her Mid-Management certification from Tarleton State University.
Dianne served a total of 33 years in public education, beginning her career at Birdville ISD, where she taught for three years before joining Cleburne ISD in 1971 as a member of the Santa Fe Elementary faculty. She also taught at J.N. Long and C.C. Cooke Elementary Schools before moving into District administration as the Director of Curriculum and Instruction and later, as Director of Personnel. Dianne developed and implemented numerous initiatives for the District including the English as a Second Language, Bilingual Education and Drug and Safety programs.
In 1978 she was honored by her fellow educators in being chosen Cleburne ISD Teacher of the Year and in 1992 was honored as Coming Home Queen during the Homecoming festivities.
Dianne was a member of First United Methodist Church in Cleburne.
She was preceded in death by her father, Jack Sanders.
Dianne is survived by her husband, Neal Lanman; daughter, Marianne Lanman; and mother, Jimmie Tanner, all of Cleburne; brother, Doug Sanders and wife, Robin, of Fort Worth, Texas; nephews, Jack Sanders and wife, Ann Tucker and William Sanders and wife, Jaimie; great niece, Mary Vance Sanders; great nephews, Jack Eliot Sanders and Hudson Graham Sanders; nephews, Mike, Steve and Phil Lanman and spouses; nieces, Karin Kerby, Lisa Robinson and Marca Stirniman.
Diannes life was filled with a host of other family members and close friends. The family would like to express their deep gratitude to Priscilla Talley and Beverly Boyer, Karin and Marca for their presence and support during the last 40 days. Dianne cherished a lifetime of memories shared with Stars Club.
In lieu of flowers, memorial donations may be made to First United Methodist Church of Cleburne, PO Box 114, Cleburne, Texas 76033.
Published on August 27, 2018
Send flowers
in memory of Jane
See more

Obituary published in

Arrangements by

Rosser Funeral Home

Events

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on November 25, 2018.

Share a message.

8 posts

Brenda Strealy
Nov 03, 2018
Dear Neal and Marianne, I am so sorry and shocked to learn of Dianne's passing. She was the best. She was the kind of friend that you could miss talking to for a year, then run into her and it was like you had never missed a beat. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you. God bless. She will be missed.
Christy Morton
Aug 29, 2018
I’m so sorry for your loss, I thought the world of Dianne! Heaven gained a great one! My prayers are with you all!
Mattie Wickham
Aug 29, 2018
William Ward
Aug 29, 2018
Neil, I'm so sorry to learn of your loss. You and your family will be in my prayers.

William Ward
Rebecca “Cricket” Anderson
Aug 28, 2018
Dianne always brought a bright spot of sunshine in our weekly meetings and will be MORE than missed. She was ever the encourager...ever the positive light that looked on the bright side. No one can fill the spot she had in our hearts and I offer to the family my condolences and sincerely thank GOD for her life on this earth and I know full well that no one can ever fill the spot emptied by her journey to heaven.
Gayle anderson
Aug 28, 2018
I was so very saddened to hear about Diane. SUch fun memories of our girls growing up together! You are in my thoughts and prayers, love, gayle
Sheila Douglas
Aug 28, 2018
Diane was awesome, she shared so many words of wisdom that will continue to be shared and lived !
I send my love and prayers to the family.
Sylvia Herr
Aug 28, 2018
Neal and Marianne, I am so sorry for your loss. I only learned a few days ago of Diane’s illness. My heart goes out to both of you.