James Stanley Herr

Events

Jim passed away May 6. He was born July 22, 1932, in McCluksy, N.D., number 10 of 12 children. All 12 children helped with the family farm.
A memorial service will be held at 3 p.m. Saturday, May 18, 2019, at Cleburne Seventh-day Adventist Church, 111 Meadowview Drive.
Jim graduated from college in Lincoln, Nebraska, in 1952. He began his career as a teacher in Wisconsin and was also a book and Bible house manager. He logged in 35 years of services for the denomination.
Survivors: wife of 40 years, Carol; children, Gaylan Herr and wife, Laurie, of Vermont, Sheri Farago and husband, Joe, of Florida, Heather Sparenberg and husband, Joel, of Burleson, and Brent Ferris and wife, Melissa, of Burleson; and 11 grandchildren, Terra Dettlaff and husband, Todd, Chad Dettlaff and wife, Melissa, Emma Herr, Alex Sparenberg, Evan Sparenberg, Ashton Ferris, Matthew Shuler, Christian Shuler, Brooklyn Shuler, Nathan Shuler and Noah Shuler.
Jim was a good Christian example to his children and grandchildren.
Published on May 8, 2019
Send flowers
in memory of James
See more

Obituary published in

Arrangements by

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

A place to share condolences and memories.

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on August 06, 2019.

Select an emblem

9 posts

Robb Crouch
May 13, 2019
My heart aches for you all. Jim is a one-of-a-kind person, and I'm so glad he was a part of your life. Hugs to each of you!
Terry and Elizabeth Perkins
May 12, 2019
Dear Carol and family,
We send our warmest condolences to the family and especially to you Carol.
What a blessing you and Jim were to us - we will deeply miss him. We have many many fond memories of Jim - his playful smile and his great sense of humor. May the Lord draw near and comfort you during this time and one day may all of us stand at the tree of life praising God and thanking him for his goodness to us - until then
May we loose to Jesus - much love
Kathi Hambright
May 11, 2019
OH, how my heart aches for each of you. I’m very thankful to have know this shining example of Jesus. He was kind, loving, and happy. He didn’t know a stranger and never judged a friend. I look forward to the grand family reunion in heaven! Until then our hearts will hold an empty place that only he could fill.
🙏🏻❤️😢
Faye Chapmon
May 10, 2019
Jim was a very kind person, always had a smile on his face. I enjoyed hearing him sing. I was honored to help Carol out by setting with Jim. He was such a dear person, I am going to miss those time's 🦋
Ken and Charlene friesen
May 10, 2019
Jim was a amazing man.We will miss him.He loved his Jesus,Jesus shined through him.His smile,caring,kindness,the way he loved his family and friends.We were blessed by knowing him.
Ken and Charlene friesen
May 10, 2019
Praying for all the family .Jim was a amazing man,he loved his Jesus.!Jesus shined through him,his smile,kindness,caring.love for family and friends.We will miss him!
Dorothy Wilcox
May 10, 2019
Knowing Jim made my life richer!! My thoughts and prayers are with you!!
Annette Bowyer
May 10, 2019
My love And prayers are with the family. Jim was a great man, And we enjoyed many years of singing together. He will be greatly missed
May 08, 2019