J.  W. Adams

Text size

J. W. Adams

September 28, 1925 - June 27, 2018

Service for J.W. Adams, 92, of Cleburne, will be conducted at 10:00 A.M., Saturday, June 30, 2018 at New Hope Baptist Church in Johnson County. The Reverend Phil Vaughn will officiate. A graveside service will follow at Baker-Lain Cemetery. Pallbearers will be B.J. Fowler, Will Tipping, Ronnie Roberts, Ted Roberts, Ronnie Crecelius, and Anson Adams. Honorary pallbearers will be Tom Searcy, Ladd Lindamood, Derrell McCravey, Waylon Damron, and Monty Lindamood. Visitation will be from 6-8:00 P.M., Friday, at the funeral home.
J.W. Adams passed away Wednesday, June 27, 2018 in Cleburne. He was born September 28, 1925 in Johnson County to William Barkley Bart and Macy Vernelle Crook Adams. He married Jeffie Bynum on May 3, 1947 and she preceded him in death on January 23, 2009, after 61 years of marriage.
Mr. Adams served in the United States Navy from 1944 to 1946 and worked as a heavy equipment operator until retiring. He was a member of the Nolands River Masonic Lodge No.453 in Rio Vista, American Legion Post No.426 in Alvarado and the New Hope Baptist Church.
Survivors include his daughters, Sharon Fowler and husband Bobby and Thressa Tipping and husband Stephen, all of Cleburne; grandchildren, Landy Boody and husband Chris and B.J. Fowler, all of Cleburne, Randa Wooten and husband Frank of Rio Vista, and Will Tipping and wife Traci of Salado; 13 great grandchildren; brother, Giles Adams and wife Darlene of Cleburne; sister, Mary Sue Damron of Granbury; and numerous nieces, nephews, other additional loving family and friends. He was also preceded in death by his parents; grandson, Jeremy Tipping; brother, Everett Ray Adams; and brother-in-law, Reese Damron.
Published on June 28, 2018
Send flowers
in memory of J. W.
See more

Obituary published in

Events

Visitation

Friday 29 Jun

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Crosier-Pearson Cleburne Funeral Home

512 North Ridgeway Drive, Cleburne, TX, USA

Add to Calendar June 29, 2018 06:00 PM June 29, 2018 08:00 PM America/Chicago Visitation for J. W. Adams Crosier-Pearson Cleburne Funeral Home, 512 North Ridgeway Drive, Cleburne, TX, USA

Burial

Saturday 30 Jun

Baker-Lain Cemetery

Johnson County, TX, USA

Funeral service

Saturday 30 Jun

10:00 AM

New Hope Baptist Church

12600 FM 1434, Cleburne, TX, USA

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on September 26, 2018.

Share a message.

2 posts

Angie Ray
Jul 06, 2018
I am so sorry to hear of Poppa's passing. He was such a sweet man!! You are all in our prayers!! Love Ya!!
Misti Bullard
Jul 05, 2018
I know he will be sorely missed by all who were blessed to know him. I am so grateful that I was one of them. He was a great man! My love to the family; all of you are in my prayers.